About UniVerse
Poets by Nation
Poetry + New Media
Support UniVerse
Welcome to UniVerse

Welcome to UniVerse: A United Nations of Poetry. Our anthology and public programs encourage universal dialogue, compassion and peace. Enjoy our archive of visionary poets and “Teach This Poem,” our free, interactive teaching tool featuring engaging questions and writing exercises.

We hear that the world is shrinking as technology and commerce create speedier global communication, but poetry helps ensure that our contracting world does not become a homogeneity of small thoughts, small hearts, and small spirits. Through war and peace, hunger and prosperity, poetry tells the story of what it means to be human.

Poets comprise an international community practicing sensitivity in desensitized times. By writing and reading poems, one participates in the faith that truth-telling will lead to healing and growth; that the practice of pure intention will create peace; and that there will be someone, somewhere, listening.

We celebrate this belief. UniVerse publishes lauded poets alongside under-recognized refugee poets and poets writing in marginalized nations. Some of our contributors write poems to preserve the stories and colors of their culture; some craft boldly individual works. Their voices combine the singular and the collective, and their lives demonstrate courage and compassion.

We thank them for their poems. Each is a glimpse of the human world and an invitation into an honest and intimate relationship. And we know that the universe expands whenever we deepen our relationships.

Please join us as a reader, educator, contributor, patron. Your donations are tax deductible and your participation is deeply appreciated.

Peace, prosperity, poetry for all,

Richard Fammerée Executive Director
Rachel Webster Editor
Michael Splendoria Webmaster, Editor
Franceso Levato Art Director
Bhikshuni Weisbrot Liaison between the United Nations SRC Society of Writers and UniVerse of Poetry
Editorial Board
Joanne Diaz  
Parneshia Jones  
Judith Valente  
Maryam Ala Amjadi  
Charles Cantalupo  
Inara Cedrins  
Tiphaine Chigot  
Anna Deeny  
Forrest Gander  
Omer Hadžiselimović  
Safaa Sheikh Hamad  
Wang Hao  
Jeanne Hong Zhang  
Fady Joudah  
Lisa Katz  
Philippe Lavie  
Samantha Levine  
Suzanne Jill Levine  
Amy Liang  
Elizabeth Macklin  
Ghirmai Negash  
Zuzanna Oslzewska  
Larissa Shmailo  
Lina ramona Vitkauskas  
Board of Directors
Susan Aurinko  
Ram Devineni  
Edward Lannan  
Bart Lazar  
Kevin Coval  
Dina Elenbogen  
Kristina Findlay  
Chris Green  
Kurt Heintz  
Larry Jaffe  
Erin Lambert  
Simone Muench  
Mike Puican  
Christine Rhein  
Deborah Nodler Rosen  
Diana Twyman  
Samantha Levine  
Melissa Dittmann  
Elizabeth Weber